Summer loving 

Wednesdays are club running night and last Wednesday saw the first of six summer handicap races.

The first race was 3.5miles and your handicap is calculated from your most recent 5k time. I have only done one timed 5k this year and it was over a minute slower than my official best from the previous year which was 18:23.

I turned up as I always do with an idea of how I would ideally like to run this race. Unfortunately as I don’t currently possess the ability to see into the future everything is just an ideal.

What I didn’t picture beforehand was there being 87 runners and me starting in position 84, or it being hot and sunny when I left my house but 10 minutes later it being windy and cold.

None of the above stopped me going out and doing what I had planned, it’s just the plan had to change slightly to work.

After a steady start for half a mile I gave it all I had and managed to get myself up to fourth place by the finish. Finishing time on my Garmin was 20:52 with my 5k split coming in at 18:13. That was actually quicker than I expected and so there should be more to come from that over the year hopefully.

Now I’m looking forward to the first race of the Warwickshire road race league this Sunday coming. A new 10k race hosted by the club which is billed as being flat and fast. I’ve visualised this race in my mind for quite some time so it will  be a real eye opener and will go on to shape my training for the forthcoming road race season.

Leave a Reply

